“Hi”

“Hi”  it’s a simple thing and a great way to introduce yourself to someone and hope a conversation gets started, but   sometimes it’s just not enough.  For instance, online dating.  If I go through all the time and effort to write paragraphs about myself, my likes and interests, fill in conversation starters, and answer dozens of questions about myself, you would think that you could do more than just a “Hi”.  “Hi” tells me nothing, not why I caught your eye, not what you are interested in, not what kind of person you are, simply Hi is simply not enough.   I have an inbox full of hi’s that I don’t know what to do with or how to reply back, do I reciprocate with a “Hi?”  maybe a “How’ve you been?”, which is kind of presumptuous since I don’t actually know you, or do I just start firing questions at you since I have no idea what you are into or why I caught your eye in the first place.  So, I just ignore the “Hi”s along with those fellas that don’t seem to feel the need to post a picture.

I know, I know, you should never judge a book by it’s cover, but in the dating world it just happens because you have to have an attraction to each other if you ever want it to be more than just friends, and   plus who wants to talk to an anonymous, faceless stranger, that’s just creepy.

I know it’s hard figuring out what to write, but even a cheesy pickup line and an camera – phone picture is better than nothing.

No Responses to ““Hi””

Leave a Reply

