Now and Then

Then

Now

 

Somethings in life make you step back and pause and think, what just happened here?   I have been having a lot of these lately, especially since the Lumberjack essentially started living with us (he still has his own place, at least till the big move coming up, it’s just that he’s just here with me and the Handful most of the time now, and I wouldn’t have it any other way!)  And, well, things are different then they were before…   When a man lived with us before – that man being the kids father…

It is a lot of little things, let me illustrate with a game of now and then…

Then (with the kids father) :I got full on pneumonia so bad I almost had to be hospitalized and he made me go out and look for cows that got out in the rain.

Now (with the Lumberjack): I barely sprained my ankle and he wouldn’t let me clean up after dinner, brought me everything I needed that night and the next morning let me sleep in for almost 4 hours while he got the kids off to school and entertained little #5.

Then: If the man didn’t like dinner it might get thrown across the table at me…  He never washed a dish or prepared any of the meals.

Now: Lumberjack does dishes every night and takes over dinner making at least once a week, and if he is home early enough from work hops in to help get dinner done.

Then: I did all the laundry and if the socks were folded wrong I had to redo them, if The man couldn’t find something or it was stained it was my fault.

Now: Lumberjack matches all the socks ( my least favorite part of laundry probably because I never managed to do it “properly” and there are just so many!  sizes color, lengths it could drive a girl mad!!!)

 

Do you see the difference?  I certainly do!  But it still amazes me anytime My Lumberjack does anything, well, nice, it’s just not something I’m used to I guess…

 

 

One Response to “Now and Then”

  1. SITMON,
    You deserve good, friend.
    Le Clown


Leave a Reply

